Author Topic: max number of seedlings  (Read 6672 times)

crazy_one

  • Seed
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 8
max number of seedlings
« on: December 20, 2010, 12:57:41 AM »
hi guys.. how to edit maximum number of seedlings in game?

Alex

  • Administrator
  • Ent
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 14
  • Posts: 1,035
Re: max number of seedlings
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2010, 07:13:09 PM »
You can set the number of seedlings allowed on an asteroid I think... use Asteroid.SeedlingCap (the default is 500). Asteroid.SpawnCap (default 32) will stop seedlings being born from trees when the number of present seedlings exceeds that number.

The number of seedlings in the entire level can never exceed 4000, that's a hard limit currently.

Pilchard123

  • Tester
  • Old Oak
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 24
  • Posts: 932
  • Eufloria: Yes
Re: max number of seedlings
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2010, 09:08:10 PM »
Default 32? I've had 40 before. Has it changed?

Alex

  • Administrator
  • Ent
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 14
  • Posts: 1,035
Re: max number of seedlings
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2010, 01:22:48 AM »
Oh yeah it might be 40 now. There's a default in the code but that gets overridden by the settings that get loaded in.

crazy_one

  • Seed
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 8
Re: max number of seedlings
« Reply #4 on: December 21, 2010, 01:52:56 AM »
there is no limit in old Dyson.. maybe exists some game constan? to mod it in Eufloria\Resources\Default.xml
  <dir name="GAME">
    ......
    <dir name="???" type="int" value="xxxx" />
    ......
  </dir>

annikk.exe

  • Achiever
  • Ent
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 1,809
Re: max number of seedlings
« Reply #5 on: December 21, 2010, 02:19:25 AM »
Here is how you do it:

Code: [Select]
Globals.Asteroids.SeedlingCap = 1000
Globals.Asteroids.SpawnCap = 75

You put these commands inside function LevelSetup()
The example shown above would allow any one empire to have up to 1000 seedlings in total, and new seedlings would stop spawning on any given asteroid when 75 have spawned (and not been moved).

Hope this helps :>

Alex

  • Administrator
  • Ent
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 14
  • Posts: 1,035
Re: max number of seedlings
« Reply #6 on: December 21, 2010, 03:24:31 AM »
Here is how you do it:

Code: [Select]
Globals.Asteroids.SeedlingCap = 1000
Globals.Asteroids.SpawnCap = 75

You put these commands inside function LevelSetup()
The example shown above would allow any one empire to have up to 1000 seedlings in total, and new seedlings would stop spawning on any given asteroid when 75 have spawned (and not been moved).

Hope this helps :>
As a clarification, this means to have maximum 1000 seedlings on that asteroid, rather than in the entire level on all asteroids combined.

crazy_one

  • Seed
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 8
Re: max number of seedlings
« Reply #7 on: December 21, 2010, 03:48:18 AM »
i has try all of this allready.. but it didnt help.. i cant crate more then 4k seeds on level

annikk.exe

  • Achiever
  • Ent
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 1,809
Re: max number of seedlings
« Reply #8 on: December 21, 2010, 03:51:22 AM »
4k is the built-in maximum.  It's not possible to set it any higher than this, much to the map-making community's chagrin :P  (and my CPU's relief)

Alex

  • Administrator
  • Ent
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 14
  • Posts: 1,035
Re: max number of seedlings
« Reply #9 on: December 21, 2010, 05:03:03 AM »
Yep, as I said, 4000 is a hard limit currently. I think there was a limit of 4000 in the old Dyson as well. Far as I know.

Sorry!

annikk.exe

  • Achiever
  • Ent
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 1,809
Re: max number of seedlings
« Reply #10 on: December 21, 2010, 06:15:55 AM »
I'm sure this has been asked before... but... why is there a hard limit?  I manage to make the game crash in plenty of other ways with my exploratory code blunders.  Why not this one? :>  (or is there some technical reason why this is not possible?)

Alex

  • Administrator
  • Ent
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 14
  • Posts: 1,035
Re: max number of seedlings
« Reply #11 on: December 21, 2010, 08:53:42 PM »
Code blunders making the game crash are fine, but prior to modding I just wanted there not to be a condition in the main game where people could get their PC to screw up. I remember being able to massively break Darwinia by collecting a bunch of stuff in one place and watching them multiply (can't remember what), eventually getting the game down to about 1 frame per 5 seconds, and I didn't want players to be able to do that with this game. So I just limited it to 4k, and since modding came along changing it hasn't been high priority as the game pretty mcuh works fine with it as-is. In the new version I'm changing it slightly ;)

Pilchard123

  • Tester
  • Old Oak
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 24
  • Posts: 932
  • Eufloria: Yes
Re: max number of seedlings
« Reply #12 on: December 21, 2010, 09:28:21 PM »
Oh, I've manages to crash it by producing too many seedlings before. It's really, really, really annoying.